5 years…

This week is reason to celebrate.

5 years

Yesterday I was assured that my stomach looks great, my MRI scans were clear and I can…

CELEBRATE 5 years of no desmoid growth!

I had my scans, on Dec 5, the anniversary of my first desmoid surgery.  What a gift.

I dreamed a lot 5 years ago about how excited I would be today, how grateful and how happy I would be – and I am all these things, but, I have to be honest, I’m not celebrating and jumping from mountain tops as much as I thought I would.  I think the great realization is I’m not doing that because I’ve  celebrated throughout this entire journey.  Yes, its exciting and I am so grateful for this day, but I was also grateful and so proud of the journey that being a desmoid survivor has graced me with.

in.5.years

….I have grown into myself.  I have learned more clearly who I am, my strengths, my weaknesses, my opportunities.  I have embraced, grown and appreciated my community.  I have ignited a personal journey of reaching deep into the understanding of who am I.  I realized 5 years ago that I wasn’t living the life of the person I wanted to be.  I was angry and embarrassed, filled with shame, jealousy and resentment.  I was living in my own pity party pool and working to be who I thought everyone else wanted me to be (which wasn’t true) and I realized I needed to figure out who I, me, not anyone else, wanted me to be and how I could get there.  So, I started to change.  It hasn’t been perfect or always beautiful.  Its been exhilarating and inspiring and messy all at the same time.  

And this is the gift my desmoid gave me. 

The gift of blossoming into myself.  It gave me a platform of strength that I never had before – to be me – to change careers, evaluate the community and people in my life and ensure that they were aligned with who I wanted to be and leave some that didn’t fit and gain so many more that did, it gave me a new, incredible respect for this beautiful body of mine and, most importantly, it helped me uncover what I am passionate about – self-love, self-expression, self-acceptance, healthy nutrition and lifestyle, empowering patients in their care and educating the medical community that healing is more that surgery, medication and traditional treatments.

journey

I am smack in the middle of this journey and I have no idea where it is going to lead, but I am reminded today to keep celebrating along the way. 

This week, I celebrate my journey thanks to Zelda.

I celebrate my Mom, who completed her first chemo session with courage, dignity and a strength that confirms just where I get mine from.  She’s a healing rockstar.

I celebrate life and the journey that we are on.  I celebrate 5 years…and of course, I wouldn’t be me if I didn’t ask myself now…5 years.3

In love and healing,

Sera

6 Comments

  1. Kathie Welsh says:

    Great news! You have alway be a determined girl I am glad you still are. And I am know you mom will do great
    too. Love
    Kathie

Leave a Reply

