Next steps…

Just checking in to let you know that my appointment went great on Friday.  Dr. Hoxworth is so kind, caring and I’m glad he came into my life.  We were able to have a very open, honest and hopeful conversation with him and I feel confident that he is the right surgeon to move forward with.  I am going in for surgery on Monday at 7 a.m. at the University of Texas – southwestern.  Our goal is to get out the old mesh, and hopefully, by the Grace of God, connect my muscles back together without laying new mesh. 

I am grateful to have my family here surrounding me and keeping my spirits high.  We’ve been having so much fun laughing, hanging out at the pool and, of course, doing a Whole Foods visit yesterday.  I have good foods for recovering surrounding me (my Mom and sister are at the Farmers Market as I write to get our final items for this week)!

I am anxious, I would be lying if I didn’t share that.  I am mostly anxious of putting my body through such violation again and really, I realize my anxiety comes with thinking of the next few weeks/months of recovery and how uncomfortable it will be/how dependent I may be on others.  I have to be very cautious after this surgery I cannot lift anything for quite awhile, I cannot exercise as I like for at least 6-9 months, maybe longer – ugh., that is so hard for me to even write….and I cannot carry children – ever.  All these truths are absorbing in my body and mind in different ways and in their own due time.  I know I am doing the right thing and can only take this one day at a time.  I know I can get through today.  Tomorrow, I’ll work on tomorrow.  The next day – then.  Today, I am here in TX, safe with my family and I got my prep medicine down for surgery (it was so gross), so I am good 🙂

I am struggling to write today, so this is all I’ll share.  I will ask that you pray for me and my family to get through this will great results, healing, minimal pain and lots of love, joy and gratitude.

My family will keep you updated via this blog until I can again.  I am so grateful for your support.

In love and healing,

Sera

1 Comment

  1. Ellen Fisher says:

    Sending lots of healing thoughts your way. My daughter is just starting her journey and it is helpful to see others like you to work your way through this. Hope to see you in Philadelphia in September (I won’t be running either!)

Leave a Reply

